Iván Naranjo ( MX )

  • laptop
Visit Artist Website

Iván Naranjo (Mexico, 1977)
The music of Iván Naranjo is the result of his interest in the expressive possibilities of musical situations that involve flexible structures, self-similarity and assemblages of mutually (in)different musics. His work includes composition for orchestral instruments, computer music, live electronics, and sound installations.

His main composition teachers have been Germán Romero, Ron Kuivila, Erik Ulman and Brian Ferneyhough. Naranjo holds a Masters degree from Wesleyan University, and a Doctorate in Musical Arts from Stanford University.

His music has been performed by the LA Phil, Arditti Quartet, JACK Quartet, FLUX Quartet, MIVOS Quartet, Spektral Quartet, Ensamble Liminar, International Contemporary Ensemble, Ensemble Dal Niente, Retro Disco, Distractfold, Adapter, Ensemble Elision, SIGMA Project, Ensemble Pamplemousse, Cepromusic, Now Hear Ensemble, Xelm-Ya, Wilfrido Terrazas, Alexander Bruck, Natalia Pérez-Turner, Julián Martínez, Séverine Ballon, Tony Arnold, Max Murray, Pablo Gómez, Juan Martín López, Dustin Donahue y Scott Worthington, among others.

Naranjo lives in Mexico City and is the Technical Director for Mexico's national contemporary music ensemble, Ensamble Cepromusic.

Made with in labits